OmniFocus 4 (still in beta) vs. NotePlan

I have used OmniFocus on and off for many years. In the past, I have also used Things and Todoist many times.

OmniFocus 4 has been in Beta Test for several years, and I’ve been in the beta program since the beginning. It has come a long way in terms of usability and stability.

This year, I took a break from OmniFocus for a few months and tried NotePlan after trying several other similar programs like Logseq and Obsidian, neither of which stuck for me.

NotePlan, however, is a winner. Like similar applications, it has a strong user community, a sound vision of how it can be used, and offers the flexibility to be useful in many different productivity systems.

It also has some shortcomings, but I’ll save those for later.

Last week, I decided to return to beta testing OmniFocus 4, and I found it much more mature, although on my Macs, it still crashes pretty often. So, I decided to make it my full-time task manager again.

But that was last week, and for the past few days, I’ve been missing NotePlan again. So … I’m going back again.

NotePlan has many nicely integrated features I’ve found nowhere else. I’ll save these for another posting.

Andy Cerier @gtdandy