Relearning Cognitive Behavoral Therapy (CBT)

I want to travel widely. I have the time, the desire, and the resources required to travel, but I have difficulty initiating travel due to my lifelong battle with anxiety disorders. And there are many other things I’d like to do with my life other than isolating myself at home.

Many years ago, I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD) and Social Anxiety Disorder (SAD). At that time, I went through a program at the BU Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders, where I learned to apply Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) to address these issues. After a few years of trying to use CBT for my anxiety issues, I gave up.

I began pursuing a different course of anxiety treatment: drugs and therapy. I have been following this path for many years. The drugs help suppress my anxiety, and the therapy allows me to better live with it.

I am no longer satisfied with my home isolation, and there are many activities outside of the house that I want to enjoy. Therefore, I am committed to relearning to apply CBT.

Andy Cerier @gtdandy