Doing drugs - 1976 to 1980

I lived in Ann Arbor, Michigan, in the late 70’s and drove a taxi for most of those years.

This provided me with many opportunities to do drugs.

I smoked pot almost every day from 1976 through 1980. I quit this habit when I moved back to Boston in late 1980.

I did a lot of speed in the years I was a full-time taxi driver. I stopped taking speed when it almost killed me.

I took acid a couple of times in those years. It was always a great experience.

I did Peyote once, and my experience was both mundane and magical. Hard to explain.

I smoked opium once, accepted as a tip from a cab fare in lieu of cash. It tasted of roses and was a heavenly smoke. I understood immediately how people could smoke this endlessly and shrivel up and die and be happy.

PS: I did coke a couple of times in the eighties, and I always enjoyed it.

Andy Cerier @gtdandy